Movie Review of the Week #26

Ok back to korean movies! So this week’s movie review is…

Code Name: Jackal

Plot: A not so smart female killer (Song Ji Hyo) is hired to kill a popular singer (Jae Joong). The killer then kidnaps the popular singer and tries to kill him in a bold manner in which the customer requested, but then the police arrives …

May Contain Spoilers:will try to keep it at a minimum

I’m not sure what to think of this movie my feelings for it are very mixed, I wanna say it was amazing because my bias Song Ji Hyo is in it but it wasn’t as horrible that I would run off screaming “my eyes! my eyes!”,lol It started out good with some comedy here and there and even touched the topic of saesang fans. But…I kept losing interest throughout the movie. It had its good parts but I found myself bored during other parts. The plot was good but I’m not sure how to describe it but…it could have been better. I think this movie had so much potential but it wasn’t reached and not because of the lack of acting(actually maybe a bit on his part) but it was very superficial(?) story-wise. It gave hints as to why the male lead was the way he was but it didn’t go more in-depth and I’m guessing cause it was supposed to be a comedy type of movie. But if it was meant to be a comedy then why even hint about the characters past? Though 2/3 movie was ok it was the ending that made it worthwhile in the end because it was something I didn’t expect at all and took me totally by surprise and had me going “daebak!” in the end. Overall this was an ok movie and it had potential but sadly in my opinion it wasn’t met. I would recommend this movie as something to watch when you’re bored and if I had to give it a rating it would be a 3/5.

Here’s the trailer and you can watch it on YT,

p.s sorry song ji hyo! I thought you looked very cute with the perm though,lol oh! I may or may not do another movie review this week depends if I find New World with eng subs. Anyone know where I can find it?

p.p.s Would you guys like it if from now on I included the links for the actual movies and not just state where you can find it? Remember feedback is appreciated! ❤

Leave a Reply

